In January…

This past month, while my husband was busy putting in 100+ hour weeks at school (“playing with Legos and shit” [his words not mine]), I did a few things too.

In January, I …

+ worked “late” a couple afternoons to finish up term 2 progress notes for my students. Yes, in my world, working late means working into the late afternoon hours, aka 4:30. It’s a rough life πŸ™‚

+ read 5 1/2 books. Here’s the list if you’re curious. Followed by my goodreads rating for those who are really curious. (my rating scale: 1= did not like; 2=ok, would not recommend; 3= good, might recommend; 4= very good; 5=great)

  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner (3 stars)
  • Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klausmann (3 stars)
  • Lucky by Alice Sebold (3 stars)
  • The White Woman on the Green Bicycle by Monique Roffey (4 stars)
  • A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty by Joshilyn Jackson (3 stars)
  • I also started The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and Quiet by Susan Cain, but it generally takes me about a year to finish any kind of non-fiction, so check back in December if you want my rating.
  • Currently reading: Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward

+ wouldn’t let one of my students go to the nurse. He waited 20 minutes, upped his story to “My throat tastes like blood. Can I go to the nurse now?” I begrudgingly allowed himΒ  to go (but only because it was almost the end of class). He was absent for the rest of the week. That Friday, I woke up and my throat tasted like blood. Damn. Sometimes karma hurts.

+ ran once. Maybe twice. But I did enjoy this sunset while running along the Charles.

+ also enjoyed seeing the Charles River covered in a dusting of snow. While walking, not running.

+ can say most of the alphabet and can almost count to 100 in French. Not very useful skills, but considering 93 in French translates to four-twenty-thirteen in English, it’s no small feat. Oui?

+ consumed this much honey. All by myself. It’s just that good.

+ ventured into vegan cooking since I didn’t have to worry about feeding my carnivorous husband.

Here are the keepers:

Squash Soup

Dinner was often accompanied by a book.

White Bean and Tomatillo Chili

white bean chili

This chili was husband-approved, although he did say, “This doesn’t look like any chili I’ve ever eaten.” Followed by, “Wait. Is this vegan?” If you have to ask, it must be good.

Hummus, avocado, and roasted tomato toast

avocado toast

Also husband-approved. I ate this several times. It’s very quick and easy.

Red Lentil and Spinach Curry

red lentil and spinach curry

Yet another husband-approved meal, but he said it was too much work. I thought it was worth it and lentils are now my new favorite food.

These could be keepers with a little work:

Pumpkin Pasta

pumpkin pasta

I think this tasted good, but my brain was having a hard time with the disconnect between it looking like it should taste like Velveeta Shells and Cheese and it actually tasting more like pumpkin pie.

Gnocchi with Brussels Sprouts and Mushrooms

vegan gnocchi

This probably would have been better if I hadn’t burned the Brussels sprouts. Pan frying gnocchi was a new concept to me, and one I think I’ll try again.

Lentils with Winter Squash

lentils with squash

This is from Mark Bittman’s How To Cook Everything Vegetarian cookbook. I love squash and like I said, lentils are my new favorite food, but this recipe needs some work. Like many of Bittman’s recipes, it was a little bland. Spice it up a little and it could be really good. [Not really a vegan meal when eaten with a cup of milk on the side πŸ™‚]

Roasted Grapefruit

roasted grapefruit

Real vegans might call this a dessert. I think it’s more of a snack, because dessert isn’t dessert unless it involves copious amounts of cream and butter. This is grapefruit with honey and cinnamon drizzled on top, then roasted in the oven for about 20 minutes. It was good, but not great. I did enjoy eating my grapefruit warm, since it was so cold outside.

This was not a keeper:

Quinoa with Caramelized Onions and Zucchini

quinoa

I’ve never enjoyed quinoa, but I thought I’d give it one more chance. I still don’t like the taste or the texture. Then my cousin shared this article about quinoa on Facebook. I’m definitely never eating quinoa again.

+ finished the month by celebrating the completion of my husband’s January term with a bunch of exhausted engineers and a healthy dose of MIT wine πŸ™‚

MIT wine

 

2 comments on “In January…

  1. Sounds like a fun month. Glad you found a hit with the red lentil tikka masala but sorry you didn’t like the quinoa dish. I look forward to seeing what else you make with red lentils. They are definitely one of my favourites. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

