I’ve got a new book to add to my reading pile

Zadie Smith’s new book, NW.


When the public library is practically on the campus of Harvard and when it looks like a castle,

I guess it’s normal to have folks like Zadie Smith stop by to do a book reading. So that’s where I was last night and I think this is something I can get used to.

She did a stunning job of bringing the characters in her novel to life and was also kind enough to answer the overly-scholarly questions from the [choose an adjective of choice] eager/erudite/hipster audience. I kept my mouth shut, since the only question I could think of was “What was your favorite restaurant to eat at when you lived in Cambridge?” which didn’t seem on par with questions about literary influences, book themes, race and social class in London, etc. I already know that Zadie Smith is brilliant and is a great writer; I want to know about her as a person, not an author. I guess I had a different agenda. All in all, it was a fine way to spend a Wednesday evening in Cambridge.

Leave a Reply

