What I’m reading

Image

One Day by David Nicholls – I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while and I finally got my hands on a copy. Pure chick lit – it will probably only take me about 48 hours to read.

I’d Like by Amanda Michalopoulou – I’m not sure how this book ended up on my wishlist, but it did, so here it is in my stack of books to read. These stories are meant to read like versions of an unwritten novel, and I’m looking forward to meeting the characters in these stories.

Stuff White People Like by Christian Lander – I’m a few years behind on this one, but I thought I’d pick it up to find out just how white I really am. Based on my love of yoga, books, David Sedaris, NPR, farmer’s markets and Barack Obama, that makes me a bonafide Caucasian. I’m so far behind this author now has another book called Whiter Shades of Pale, which is also a few years old. I’ll probably add that to my reading list at some point too. So far, I think the book is funny, but many have been offended and call it racist, so read at your own risk.

Dear Husband by Joyce Carol Oates. A collection of short stories by Joyce Carol Oates that I haven’t read yet. No further explaining necessary.

August issue of Boston Magazine. The Best of Boston issue. Now I have a long list of restaurants in Boston to check out.

October issue of Vanity Fair. I borrowed this magazine from the library because I wanted to read the profile of Obama by Michael Lewis. I sheepishly walked all the way home carrying a magazine with a giant photo of Katie Holmes on the cover touting “What Katie Didn’t Know: Marriage Scientology-Style,” only to discover that I could have just read the Obama article for free on the Vanity Fair website. Oh well. By the way, the Obama article is a good read; the Scientology article, not so good.

Leave a Reply

